Review: Charade (Games #1) by Nyrae Dawn

Book: Charade (Games #1)

Author: Nyrae Dawn

Published: October, 2012

My Rating: 5/5

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Book Description:

Nineteen-year-old Cheyenne tries to portray the perfect life to mask the memories of her past. Walking in on her boyfriend with another woman her freshman year in college threatens that picture of perfection.

Twenty-one-year-old Colt never wanted college and never expected to amount to anything, but when his mom’s dying wish is for him to get his degree, he has no choice but to pretend it’s what he wants too.

Cheyenne needs a fake boyfriend to get back at her ex and Colt needs cash to take care of his mom, so they strike a deal that helps them both. But what if Cheyenne’s past isn’t what she thought? Soon they’re trading one charade for another—losing themselves in each other to forget about their pain. The more they play their game, the more it becomes the only thing they have that feels real.

Both Cheyenne and Colt know life is never easy, but neither of them expect the tragedy that threatens to end their charade and rip them apart forever.

My Review:

Oh my god, I loved this book!

It reminded me a little of Beautiful Disaster at times, but it’s so much better. And this is said considering that I did like Beautiful Disaster quite some.

Charade is about this girl and this boy getting together in an attempt to hide themselves. Cheyenne needs to show her cheating ex-boyfriend that she’s better off. And Colt needs money to overcome his mother’s medical expenses. But neither are being truthful, with each other or themselves.

Colt is a bad boy. And he’s hurting. His mother is dying of cancer and there’s nothing he can do, it’s driving him crazy. So he does anything he can to forget. To live, if only for a few hours, in a world where his mother is not withering away and he can’t help her. Still, he can hide in girls and parties all he wants, but that doesn’t take away how much he cares and hurts for his mother.

Cheyenne has plenty of demons herself. No one knows her real self, maybe not even she does. She hides away in pretenses and sarcastic comments. She pretends to be the perfect girl who no one would leave, she pretends to live in a world where her panic attacks aren’t as severe as she lets on, in a world where her mother didn’t left her just because. But with all that she has to deal with, she’s strong. Admirably so.

And despite all their problems they find solace in each other. Physical at first, but there’s no stopping the sparks flying everywhere. And when circumstances bring them closer still, there’s no resisting falling for each other.

I’m so in love with this book. It made me cry like a baby, both happy and sad tears, but the fact that the author was able to transmit all those emotions to me just made me love it more. This is my second book by Nyrae Dawn and I loved the first one so much it’s actually one of my favorites. Nyrae has a way of making her characters so real it’s hard to let go. She’s fast becoming one of my favorite authors.

I’m so completely recommending Charade. Read it. You won’t regret it. It’s beautiful and sweet and heartbreaking and just the best kind of emotional rollercoasters.5

4 Comments

Filed under 5 stars, New Adult, Review, Romance

4 responses to “Review: Charade (Games #1) by Nyrae Dawn

  1. I loved charade as well! And I love your review :)
    I’m really looking forward to the second book, especially as Colt’s best friend seems a lot more bad-boy than Colt ever was! I mean, sure – there was the whole drugs and such, but that was all for his mother and he never took them himself. Adrian, on the other hand…

  2. Thanks for the thoughtful review! Charade has been on my wish list for awhile now but I think I’ll move it up in priority! :)

Leave a Reply

