Stacking the Shelves #2

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga at Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. You can include books you buy in physical stores or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and ebooks.

This past week I’ve acquired a lot of awesome books, books I can’t wait to read. But sadly it will take some time to sort through them and the other million I still have to read. I’ll get there, I’ll get there! For now, why don’t you take a peek at what I got?

1. Reflection by Jessica Roberts

  Book Description:

right, spunky Heather Robbins has escaped her small hometown and is anxiously beginning her freshman year of college. Rising above her rocky childhood, she’s found a place where good things are finally starting to happen: her own private apartment, refreshing college classes, and an intense attachment to a mysterious and rugged classmate, Nick Richards.

But when her dreamy college life turns out to be nothing more than a wonderful dream while resting in a coma, questions threaten.

Now, Heather must press forward to unlock the real past, and find the answers buried deep in her mind. What she unlocks instead is a roller coaster ride through flashbacks, embellished memories, and a whirlwind romance.

And when it’s all over and she comes face to face with the truth, will she lose everything she’s fallen in love with?

2. Lengths by Steph Campbell & Liz Reinhardt

Book Description:

Nineteen-year-old Whit Conrad leaves her conservative Pennsylvania home for sunny California, looking for independence, a fresh start, and a place to stash her grief. She promptly finds a job at a tattoo parlor, a craptastic first apartment, and one friend—Ryan—who is a little less friend, a little more benefits.

Deo Beckett is a soulful surfer with a passion for tattoos and beautiful women. On the eve of his twenty-second birthday, he finds himself living with his grandfather, recently unemployed, and seriously adrift. He doesn’t know much about what he wants out of life, but he does know his current situation isn’t cutting it.

When Deo meets Whit, she’s all sexy makeup and fierce, smart-ass fun. It doesn’t take him long to see past her tough shell. And when he gets a good look at what’s under all the superficial stuff that usually gets his attention, it leaves Deo wondering if there might be more to life than living fast and free.

Too bad Whit has a past she doesn’t plan on sharing—no matter how hot Deo is. She might want him, but she knows better than to let her guard down.

Deo falls for Whit, and falls hard. But everything about her, down to that mysterious tattoo and the way she thrashed in her sleep, tells him that the girl he loves is hiding something. And the more he pushes for answers, the more Whit pulls away.
Having your guard up is one thing, but are the lengths Whit goes to protect her secret worth throwing away the second chance she has at happiness with Deo?

3.  Dancergirl (WiHi #1) by Carol M. Tanzman

 Book Description:

Ever feel like someone’s watching you? Me, too. But lately it’s been happening in my room.

When I’m alone.

A friend posted a video of me dancing online, and now I’m no longer Alicia Ruffino. I’m dancergirl. And suddenly it’s like me against the world.— everyone’s got opinions.

My admirers want more, the haters hate, my best friend Jacy,— even he’s acting weird. And some stalker isn’t content to just watch anymore.

Ali. Dancergirl. Whatever you know me as, however you’ve seen me online, I’ve trained my whole life to be the best dancer I can be. But if someone watching has their way, I could lose way more than just my love of dancing. I could lose my life.

4. Angelfall by Susan Ee

Book Description:

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

5. Behind the Demon’s Mask by Nathalie Gray

Book Description:

When Jasmine’s last relative dies, she’s left with a mystery—an old tarot card called “Il Tempo” and a key. Through her aunt’s lawyer, she learns this key comes with a house along Canal Grande in Venice, Italy. Thinking she can settle her post-divorce debts, she decides to pay her inheritance a visit but quickly realizes the house is more than crumbling brick and mortar—it’s a gate. A gate to a world of masqueraded lovers and assassins, a realm where a mask can hide much more than a face.

 

So, that’s what I got this week. As if my reading list wasn’t long enough, huh? I really need to stop getting new books, especially so many! But hopefully I’ll be reading them soon, and posting a review as I do.

What did you add to your stack this week?

56 Comments

Filed under Stacking the Shelves

56 responses to “Stacking the Shelves #2

  1. You got some fabulous reads this week. The Nathalie Gray book is new to me. Come visit me if you can.

    Grace

  2. I SO want to read Dancergirl. Wan’t wait to hear what you think.

  3. Angelfall sounds pretty good. I hope you enjoy your books. 🙂

  4. So many pretty covers! I haven’t heard of a lot of these books, but they sound interesing. Enjoy reading!
    Thanks for commenting on my blog & for the follow!

  5. I haven’t read any of these books yet, but they all sound really good! Thanks for replying to my “Stacking the Shelves”! I also have a few other Sarah Dessen books that I plan on reading later, Along for the Ride & Lock and Key! Are they any good? 🙂 I also just posted my review for The Truth About Forever!

  6. I got Angelfall not too long ago too and it sounds SO good! I was shocked by how many pages it is though! Thanks for stopping by Libby Blog today!
    Our Week in Books @Libby Blog

  7. Lengths looks really good! I just reviewed Reflections and it was a pretty good read too =) Great book week I hope you enjoy them!

  8. I’ve had Angelfall on my TBR list for quite some time. I really should get to reading that. Behind the Demon Mask looks good! I added it to my TBR list! My eternally long TBR list…

  9. Great books! I really want to read Angelfall; it’s supposed to be excellent. I also need to add Dancergirl to my TBR list. Happy reading, and thanks for stopping by!

  10. So many pretty covers!!!!! I have never heard of any of those before. Thank you for introducing them. Thank you for introducing them to me, and for checking out my blog. Happy reading!!!! 8)

    • I know right? I’m a cover kind of her, I first see if I like it then I read the description! LOL
      I’m glad to help on expanding your reading list, we always need more books to read, even if the list gets endless! 😉
      Thanks for stopping by.

  11. You are going to LOVE Angelfall. I kid you not, that book is incredible, and you have to read it soon and tell me how it goes! I’m going a little crazy for the sequel, but you can join me in the madness 😛 Lol jk, but I do appreciate you stopping by, many hugs!!

    P.s. You have the most adorable rating system ever.

    • Omg! I hope so! I really hope I like it! And duh!! I’m sure I’ll be joining you in the madness! 😉
      LOL Thank you! I had a hard time coming up with a good rating system and when I saw one of this cute faces, and I couldn’t resist! 😀
      Thanks for stopping by.

  12. Angelfall was so so good! Dancergirl was okay, pretty entertaining, I hadn’t heard of Reflection, just added it to my TBR!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Happy reading 🙂

  13. I am really looking forward to reading Angelfall. I hope it’s as good as I think it’s going to be. Enjoy your new books!

    Mary
    Thanks for stopping by my STS!

  14. Awesome haul! I hadn’t heard of any of these books, but I’ll definitely be checking them out. Thanks for sharing and stopping by my blog.

    Happy reading 🙂

  15. I haven’t read Angelfall but I’ve heard of it and it sounds pretty great! I hope you enjoy all your books. 🙂

    Thanks so much for stopping by booknook!

  16. Thanks for stopping by my STS! Reflection sounds cool, plus I’m looking for more books with college age characters. Enjoy!

  17. These books sound great, Elle! Lots here I haven’t heard of before. Looking forward to hearing what you think. 🙂

  18. Awesome haul this week! I have already added a few of these to my TBR list.
    Happy Reading,
    Dani
    My Sunday Edition @ Paulette’s Papers

  19. I like the synopsis of Lengths and I’ve been wanting to read Angelfall. I’ve heard good things about it. Enjoy your books and happy reading! 🙂

  20. Wow, those books sound amazing. I hadn’t heard of the first two before and have added them to my list.

  21. I have heard amazing things about Angelfall. Hope you enjoy all your books.

    Becky @ A Reader’s Devotion

  22. I have never heard of Reflection by Jessica Roberts, but it will be on my TBR list. Thanks for bringing that one on my radar.

  23. There’s so many books with gorgeous masks on the cover now! 🙂
    I really liked dancergirl.. really timely and appropriate for this day & age, I felt.. hope you like it!

    Happy reading & thanks for stopping by!

    Michele | Stacking the Shelves

  24. Hi Elle. You do have quite a haul this week!! Good luck finding the time to read them all!! Thanx fro stopping by my StS.

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace
    New Follower email + Twitter 🙂

  25. You got some great books this week! I’m the tour for Reflection and can’t wait to start it! Dancergirl is one that I def. want to read. I finished Circle of Silence and it was hella good! I heard Angelfall is pretty awesome. I seriously need to make time for that one. It’s still sitting on my shelf 😦

    Enjoy all your books! Happy reading! 🙂

    MaryAnn
    Chapter by Chapter

  26. Looks like a bunch of great books. They’re all new to me, so I have some Goodreads-surfing to do. Happy reading!

  27. Oh, you got some nice books this week. I hope you have a great reading week. Thanks for stopping by my STS:)

  28. All of those sound really great!! I really want to read Angelfall! I have heard such awesome things about it.

  29. Dancergirl and Angelfall look so awesome! I hope you enjoy them, and I cannot wait to see what you think! Have fun and enjoy all those books! Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my blog!

  30. Angelfall was amazing! Great haul of books, I hope you enjoy them and thanks for stopping by my blog!

  31. Some nice-looking books this week. The cover of Reflection particularly pulls me in and makes me want to know more.

    Thanks for stopping by my StS!

  32. Yay for Lengths!!! 🙂 Reflection & dancergirl are totally on my TBR so I can’t wait to see what you think! Happy reading.

    Thanks for stopping by our post! Sorry it’s taken so long to return the visit ~ Becky & I both started our grad classes again this week so it’s been crazy!

Leave a Reply

