Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Book: Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1)

Author:  Laini Taylor

Published: September 2011

My Rating: 5/5

GoodReads | Amazon | B&N

Book Description:

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages—not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When one of the strangers—beautiful, haunted Akiva—fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

My Review:

Oh. My. God.

When I finished reading this book I was an emotional mess, and now as I write this review I have to say I still am, and it’s just as intense. Can I say it again? Oh. My. God. Again? …Okay, no. I’m just kidding, but… Oh. My. God. Okay, I’m stopping now.

Karou is a 17 year old art student; she has a best friend named Zuzana and an ex-boyfriend that doesn’t want to accept that it’s over. Her hair is blue and she often runs errands for a wishmonger. All normal stuff, obviously. Only one small detail: she doesn’t know who (or maybe what?) she is, or why she was raised by chimeras (aka demons).

Akiva is an angel. He’s an angel set on revenge. He’s mysterious and cold. He’s a warrior, and emotions shouldn’t be a part of him. But they were, once they were, but then all he loved was taken from him, and now he is hunted by the memories. All there’s left is the need to avenge what he lost, and will never have again… or will he?

When one day he sees a blue-haired girl exit through an alley in Marrakesh, he feels drawn to her without explanation, so he follows her. And this is when hell breaks loose.

Through most of the beginning I felt confused, really confused. Probably as confused as Karou. What was happening? Who were this people? Who was she? I asked myself this questions time and time again, until the moment I got my answers. Don’t misunderstand, I enjoyed it nonetheless, but my anxiousness sometimes gets the best of me.

From the moment we meet Akiva I felt my heart fall, for him and for what was going to happen. It was a premonition, if you will, and had I actually known with certainty where it would lead and how it would end, I would have prepared myself mentally for it.

“Was there any fate more bitter than to get what you long for most, when it’s too late?”

This book tossed my heart from side to side in a way I can’t explain. I was hurting for Akiva SO BADLY. I felt his pain and hurt like not many books can make me feel. I felt for Karou too, of course, but it wasn’t the same. She was in ignorance to her life before the shop and Brimstone, she didn’t know better, but he had lived so much, so much pain and sorrow and hurt and desperation and hope and I was hurting along with him as I read his life story. It was like a pang in my chest every single time.

This was a frequent occurrence thorough the book. Even more with every flashback to the past, I think I never ached so much for a character before.

The moment when Madrigal and Akiva met and how their love started was heartwarming, yet painful at the same time. It was so sweet and perfect, but I couldn’t help but think what would happen later to them and my heart was breaking for there too.

I don’t know why but I couldn’t shake the sad feeling, not even when the thing I awaited the most happened, that amazing kiss between Akiva and Karou. The only times I was able to crack a smile was when Zuzana said something funny, or when Madrigal and Akiva where together, he was so happy then and so was I.

Every time Akiva and Karou where together it was bittersweet. I longed for them to have a happy, free of worries moment. It was a need I had for them to be together.

“Your soul sings to mine. My soul is yours, and it always will be, in any world. No matter what happens. I need you to remember that I love you.”

Everything about this book was perfect. The way it was written, the dialogues, the descriptions, the characters, how their emotions were described. Everything!

It left me aching to know more. I was expecting the ending even though I tried talking myself out of it many times. A story doesn’t have to finish with a happy ending to be perfect. And if I dare admit it myself, it fit. It wouldn’t make sense to make a rushed move to make everyone in the story happy. It’s the first time I’m left with an ending far from happy and I loved it.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone was raw and emotional, it was heartbreaking and intense. It was sweet yet anguishing. It was amazing. There are not enough words to describe its perfection.

Now all there’s left for me to do is wait, wait for the sequel to come and put me out of my misery. So, waiting I shall do. As patiently as I can, or as Akiva would say:

“With the infinite patience of one who has learned to live broken, he awaited her return.”

Okay, I’m not being entirely truthful. It can’t wait anymore. I think I’m going to die.

14 Comments

Filed under 5 stars, Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Review, YA

14 responses to “Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

  1. Wow! I’ve read a lot of glowing reviews for this book, but this one is definitely the most positive! It’s so cool that you enjoyed it so much, it still stuck with you after. That’s the sign of a fantastic book. This has been on my TBR list for a while and I’m even more excited to read it now!

    C.J.
    Sarcasm&Lemons

  2. I love your review and I glad that you enjoyed it just as much as I did. I also rated this book with five of five and I can’t wait to read the next one!

  3. I bought this book as a gift for my friend, I hope she enjoys it as much as you do. So many feelings in this review. x) I was a bit confused while reading your review, I have no idea who Akiva was or his suffering but you talked about him with so much emotion that I want to know. I’m definitely borrowing this from my friend when she finishes it. I really enjoyed your review btw, I love when a book leaves you with so much…feels. x)

    • Gah! I’m such an idiot! LOL I didn’t explain much at all. I’m working on not letting my emotions over a book destroy my possibilities of writing a coherent review! xD It will probably take some time! LOL
      I’m glad you liked it though, and you should totally read this book. It’s the kind of amazing book we only find once in a while 😉

  4. hello, new follower from bookblogs. Stop by and visit me and give a follow if you like http://nettesbookshelf.blogspot.com
    I enjoyed your review, now I’ll have to put this on my tbr list! 😀

    • Hey! Thanks for stopping by and following. I’m following you back! 🙂
      I’m glad you liked my review! And I hope you like the book as well!

  5. Thank you for the lovely review, Elle! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  6. It really was an amazing book! I listened to it on audio, and I have to say that to this day, it is my favorite audiobook so far. The narrator did an incredible job on the voices and accents and I love how she did Zuzana. Fantastic review!

    Vyki @ On The Shelf

    • Totally agree! I listed to it too, and it was amazing! I have the audiobook for Days of Blood and Starlight too, since I loved it so much I had to get it for the second book! 🙂
      Thanks for commenting!

  7. Wow! I’ve been wanting to read this book for so long, and after reading your various reactions, I’m looking forward to it even more. I have to own a copy of this book, lol! 😀

Leave a Reply

