Review: Existence (Existence Trilogy #1) by Abbi Glines

Book: Existence (Existence Trilogy #1)

Author:  Abbi Glines

Published: December 2011

My Rating: 5/5

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Book Description:

Seventeen year old Pagan Moore has seen souls her entire life. Once she realized the strangers she often saw walking through walls were not visible to anyone else, she started ignoring them. If she didn’t let them know she could see them, then they left her alone. Until she stepped out of her car the first day of school and saw an incredibly sexy guy lounging on a picnic table, watching her with an amused smirk on his face. Problem is, she knows he’s dead.

Not only does he not go away when she ignores him, but he does something none of the others have ever done. He speaks. Pagan is fascinated by the soul. What she doesn’t realize is that her appointed time to die is drawing near and the wickedly beautiful soul she is falling in love with is not a soul at all.

He is Death and he’s about to break all the rules.

My Review:

So, I think I need to say first, that when I finished reading Existence I was freaking the f*ck out, and then some.

Why you ask? For starters I didn’t want to accept it was over. That good enough for you? Seriously, I think I’ve never read a book so fast! Considering English is not my first language (and if you didn’t know this now you know, yay!) and I’m a pretty slow reader no matter what I read, I was really socked with myself after Existence.

But who cares about my reading speed! I’m getting carried away.

Back to the book. Shoot! That was awesome! Seriously. Dank The book was perfect. I was pulled in since the very beginning. But, you know, how wouldn’t I if the first thing we see through Pagan’s eyes is him.

Pagan is a normal teenagers, or as normal teenagers who see ghosts/spirits go. She’s been seeing them all her life, so when she sees a rather good-looking one, she thinks nothing of it. Other than swoon at his good looks, that is. I can assure you, you will too. So she keeps with her day, trying her best to ignore the soul looking at her, and hoping that by doing so he will go away.

But he doesn’t.

Sadly for Pagan, she didn’t know he wasn’t a regular soul. And he wasn’t there to just follow her around, he was there to take her away. For good. I wouldn’t mind much, if it were him taking me, too. But she finds out soon enough, when he talks to her.

You see, the souls Pagan usually sees don’t speak to her. They stare at her, try to communicate at best, but they never uttered a word to her, and when he does she freaks out. And I squeal. And that’s embarrassing.

That’s just her luck. A speaking ghost. And now she’s intrigued. The more she sees him and thinks about him, the more fascinated she becomes. But she can’t afford to find a ghost fascinating, at least not this one.

I liked Pagan quite a lot. I really liked her fierce determination, especially when trying to protect Dank. It made me like her a whole lot more. And well, I can’t really talk about Dank, because honestly what is there to say? I was clinging to his every word.

Pagan’s best friend, Miranda was pretty cool, and funny. A little overdramatic maybe, but who doesn’t have a friend like that, I would be the drama queen in my group of friends anyway. Plus it made it just a little more real, or as real as it could get. Another character I loved was Gee (I’m not sure I can tell you who she is without spoiling, so I won’t), she was too funny, had me grinning every time she spoke. Honestly hilarious!

And then there’s Leif. Leif is the popular kid. The kid that everyone wants a little bit of. But for some reason (and yes, I know the reason and you don’t) he chose Pagan of all the girls in school. He was sweet and cute sometimes, but kind of clingy and irritating too. I couldn’t help it, I had mixed thoughts regarding him, and most of them were on the dislike side because –as it usually happens with me –I was already on Dank’s side and he was trying to take Pagan from him.

As the story develops and Pagan gets closer to Leif in an attempt to have some normalcy –and Dank pushes her away to protect her from himself –I start worrying. I’m the kind of person that worries about pretty much everything. If you think Pagan worries too much, that’s because you haven’t met me (and you probably never will, but you get my point). And as I worry the story away I get to the kiss. It was embarrassing the sound that escaped me when they kissed. I felt like I had waited ages for it, and then I finally get to it, and it was all I hoped it would be and then some and… Swoon.

I was right about halfway through the book when I started feeling concerned over the fact they wouldn’t end up together, and I was pretty ready to scold at the author for this fact. Dank’s persistence in ignoring Pagan and her pain were just pulling at my heart. It was almost as if I was feeling her pain, as I could feel his pain. And let me just give you a teaser of a heart-pulling scene, one because I like teasing people and two because I just can’t get it out of my mind:

“Don’t leave me,” I begged.
He touched my lips with his fingertips. “I won’t. At least not tonight.”

I know! At least not tonight? Gah!

That was when my biggest fear resurfaced. It all was going perfect, or as perfect as it could, given the circumstances, and then the words were uttered and I was left biting my nails and praying he wasn’t going away for good; an irrational fear if you think about it, really, but I just couldn’t help myself.

After that we go through a series of scenes with Pagan trying to deal with her pain, and needing to find the truth. I think I was just as desperate as her to find out what was happening, and to see Dank again. Duh! I mean, seriously, I was nearing the end and I was about to freak the f*ck out, okay!? (Sorry, I don’t usually curse this much). Where was my Dank?! I was missing him just as much as Pagan was. I was about to start chapter twenty and I had lost all hope. I felt worse than Pagan, and she felt bad enough. She was resigned, and I was about to cry.

And then voilá! Excuse me while I grin like an idiot for a few minutes. But that wasn’t it. Abbi Glines had one last thing under her sleeve. My reaction: Leif isn’t WHAT?! Shocker right there, my friends. And it was over. Gee, please come and take me away, I don’t want to live like this. God! Abbi what you did leaving me hanging like that was mean, mean I say!

I gave quite a lot of thought to the rating I would give Existence. I was going for five, but then I was mad because I wanted more Dank so I settle with four. But then she pulls that off in the end and I was left dying to read the next book, so congratulations Abbi Glines you just got five stars out of me.

I will stop writing now because this review is getting way too long. And mostly rant-ish. But, on a last note I’d like to say: read this freaking book!

That is all fellows. Au revoir.

3 Comments

Filed under 5 stars, Paranormal Romance, Review, YA

3 responses to “Review: Existence (Existence Trilogy #1) by Abbi Glines

  1. Pingback: Review: Predestined (Existence Trilogy #2) by Abbi Glines | My Life Through a Book

  2. Pingback: Review: Ceaseless (Existence Trilogy #3) by Abbi Glines | My Life Through a Book

  3. Why hallo! U my lil bookworm friend u seem to have knack for this kind of thing..yes my friendly after ur review I bought the book…
    Thanks!;)

Leave a Reply

