Review: Ceaseless (Existence Trilogy #3) by Abbi Glines

Book: Ceaseless (Existence Trilogy #3)

Author:  Abbi Glines

Published: September 2012

My Rating: 4/5

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

[Existence – Book #1 Review]

[Predestined – Book #2 Review]

Book Description:

Can he make her fall in love with him… again?

When Pagan Moore proved worthy of Death’s devotion, he was given the gift of getting to keep her.

But Dank was never promised that Pagan would keep him.

When a soul is created, so is its mate. In every lifetime those souls find each other. They complete the other’s destiny. It’s time for Pagan’s soul to choose if she truly wants an eternity at Death’s side or if she wants the mate created just for her.

Dank didn’t think he had to worry about her choice. He knew where her heart belonged. Until he realized that every kiss, every touch, every moment of their time together would be washed from her memories. He would have to win her heart all over again and prove to her soul that he was where she belonged.

If only her soul’s mate wasn’t right there standing in his way.

My Review:

[Note: If you haven’t read the first book in the series, be warned. You might find unavoidable spoilers.]

It’s over! I think I’m sad that this series is over already. I first read Existence on May of this year, it’s been only four months and it’s over.

It’s the first series I’ve completed in a long time. If I look back I think it’s the first series I complete since Twilight, which is saying a lot (wait, there was also Fifty Shades, but I’d rather forget about that one). I’ve started lots and lots of series since then, but this is the only one I’ve had the courage to actually finish.

I think it’s safe to say now, that the Existence Trilogy is one of my favorite series. And Ceaseless was an amazing end to it. It was –dare I say –pretty prefect.

The original description in goodreads had me worrying pretty badly. I mean, do you remember what it said? I was freaking out the first time I saw it:

He defied Heaven to keep her, he defeated evil to save her, but if her soul wants another… will he be able to let her go?

Do you see it? I kept thinking, after everything, Abbi can’t do this to us! She can’t! But she was going to…

In Ceaseless we are once again faced with Pagan and Dank fighting for their love, but this time there’s no angelic power trying to kill her, there’s no voodoo price trying to steal her soul. This time Pagan has to choose if she really wants to stay with Dank forever.

You see, every soul has its mate, and for Dank to be able to be with Pagan forever he needs to let her soul choose between him, and its mate. Who will Pagan choose? Who will she choose when she doesn’t remember ever meeting Dank at all, when every bit their time together and all they went through was erased from her memory?

Dank has only one choice: making her fall in love with him. Again.

I will come right out and say I was pretty close to tears on the Prologue. Yes, the Prologue! I’m emotional, so what? Sue me! But really, you’d be too if you read what I read. Maybe I should give you a little bit of it, so you understand me…

“She won’t remember meeting Death and your breaking the rules to save her. She won’t remember fighting for you. She won’t remember the curse she suffered while under the spell of the voodoo spirit. It will all be washed clean.
If you want her, Dankmar, then you have to win her heart from the soul made to be her mate.”

Do you get me now? I was sure then that I was not going to be able to live through that kind of heartache again.

With Pagan now in college Ceaseless goes up a notch. In all senses. And I do mean in all of them. I don’t actually think this would classify as Young Adult anymore, I mean it was… intense.

Ceaseless was a perfect end to this amazing series. It explores all the emotions. There’s love and passion, heartache and betrayal, anguish and desperation, and love again. It was intense, heart wrecking and amazing. It got pretty steamy too! *wink wink*

And now to the ending, because I know that’s what everyone wants to know about (at least that’s what I wanted to know about before reading it). Don’t worry, I won’t give spoilers away, I’ll just tell you this: couldn’t have been better.

I think I read Ceaseless even faster than the first book. I was actually surprised when I realized it was over, mostly because I didn’t want it to be over. But I was also happy, happy that I read it, happy that it was so good, and happy that I got my happy ending.

“I knew then that I had never understood what humans called love. But that if it was anything close to the power [Pagan] held over me, then no wonder they searched for it so passionately.”

17 Comments

Filed under 4 stars, New Adult, Paranormal Romance, Review, YA

17 responses to “Review: Ceaseless (Existence Trilogy #3) by Abbi Glines

  1. Cindy

    OMG thanks so much!!!! i am so glad there is an HEA because i could’nt stand the thought of pagan choosing someone else then dank. I mean seriously hes DANK!!! who would’nt choose him

  2. Dani

    I have a question. Does she get her memory back of all the times she was with dank? because it would be messed up if she forgot all the things she went throught with dank! 😦

  3. Kimberley

    i have a question that might spoil the book for me but i just need to know!!. Does pagan become immortal so that she and dank can be together forever or something happens so that they will be together forever??? i really need to know. but if its a huge spoiler then don’t tell me. 😉 but still. lol

  4. kimberley

    OOOMMMMGGGG i got ceaseless this morning and just finished I LOVE IT!!!!!! thank you so much for not spoiling was fantastic.emotional rollercoaster but so worth it> The only thing that got me was when leif screwed up things for dank. UGH what an a**. Other than that super flipping fantastic book FIVE STARS!!!!

    • AAHHHH Yayyyy!! 😀
      I so totally agree with you, I knew from the bginning I shouldn’t like Leif! 😉
      So glad you liked it so much! Eeek!

  5. Your review made me want to read this book even more than I already did. Thank you for such an outstanding, well described review!

  6. Nikki

    I wanted to buy this book, but I can not find anywhere that sells it besides in the ebook form.
    Do you know where you can buy this book

Leave a Reply

