Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Book: Anna and the French Kiss

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Published: December 2010

My Rating: 4/5

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Book Description:

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home. As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near – misses end with the French kiss Anna – and readers – have long awaited?

My Review:

I’m so glad I read Anna and the French Kiss. I need to read more books that draw you in and make you grin so hard your cheeks hurt. I need to read more books that are this sweet, that leave you with this sense of happiness that’s not easy to shake. Because that’s how this book made me feel. Happy.

It had its fair share of broken hearts and misunderstandings, but nothing can rival to the joy you feel when you finish reading it. It was sweet, and cute, and perfect.

It was so easy to relate to Anna, what with her parents sending her to the other side of the world, when all she really wants is to be with her friends, and explore for almost relationship with Toph. But I’m also glad she was sent away. Duh! There’s no way we she would have met this British-American-French boy, otherwise. There was only one thing that needed to be said for me to go head-over-heels for St. Clair, just like Anna. English accent. Swoon.

I’m going to make this a short review, because I don’t really have much to say without spoiling the whole thing. I do have to say though, that I waited 223 pages for it to happen, the most painful pages of my life… Okay, not really. Whatever.

Anna and the French Kiss is a great and easy read. I often found myself trying hard to pronounce the French words correctly in my head; I never actually succeeded because honestly, I suck at it just as much as Anna did.

Anyway. This was my first Stephanie Perkins’ book, but it certainly won’t be my last. So, read it. Because I said so. 😉

2 Comments

Filed under 4 stars, Review, Romance, YA

2 responses to “Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #9 | My Life Through a Book

  2. 최다해 gongjumonica

    Thanks for sharing this review. I have read this book a year or two ago and I love it.

Leave a Reply

