Tour Stop: New Revelations (Second Sight #2) by Heather Topham Wood

Title: New Revelations (Second Sight #2)

Author: Heather Topham Wood

Genre: YA, Paranormal Romance

Book Description:

Life should’ve been perfect. Kate Edwards had won the heart of police detective Jared Corbett and was coming to terms with her psychic ability. Things were blissful—until the day she met Declan Brayden.

Declan also has psychic visions and wants to work alongside Kate. Kate doesn’t trust the damaged and arrogant seer, but she knows combining their abilities would allow her to help more people. This becomes vital when visions of a missing fitness instructor turn into a race against time to save the girl’s life.

Interview with the Author:

Hello, Heather! Welcome to my blog. To start, will you tell us a little about yourself?

Heather: I’m a mom to two little boys who started out writing online articles to make a side income so that I could stay home with my little ones. I had written fiction in high school and decided to return to it last year when I reread some of my old writings. I still write non-fiction, but my novels have become my primary focus since publishing First Visions in May.

What would you say is the hardest part of writing a book?

Heather: I loathe editing. My first draft is always fun to write and I allow myself to not get hung up on grammar, sentence structure, etc. After I do two or more rounds of self-edits, I send it to my editor who has worked on my past two novels.

Ah! I hate editing, too! And I’m not even a writer! 😉 Now, how did you come up with the plot for this book series?

Heather: I wrote the first chapter of First Visions in high school. It was obviously a lot different back then (I used to be a huge fan of cramming as many adjectives as possible in every single sentence), but the premise was the same. A detective comes to a psychic for help on a missing person’s case he’s working on.

That’s really cool. So, I’m going to admit it; I’m team Jared all the way. Should I be worried with Declan in the picture now?

Heather: I love Jared too! A few of the scenes in New Revelations were hard for me to write because I hated this other guy coming between her and Jared. But I see how Kate could be drawn to another psychic. She’s confused about her powers and      Declan offers answers. He uses her need to control her powers to develop a close   bond with Kate.

Hard to write, hard to read! I hope it doesn’t break my heart! 😉 What do you think readers will like the most about this second book in the Series?

Heather: A first book in a series usually works as an introduction to the characters. Readers already know the characters in New Revelations, so I was able to focus more on the conflict. There’s also a twist at the end of the novel that I hope surprises readers.

Oh! Surprise, surprise! Will there be a third book? If so, can you give us a little scoop on it? What other projects do you have going on?

Heather: I’m hoping for an early spring release for Second Sight Book Three. I have the plot outlined and started some early writing. In this novel, Kate hopes to win Jared back while also trying to figure out what her future vision at the end of Book Two could mean. She accompanies Jared to Maine for Thanksgiving at his aunt’s tree farm. When she returns, she’s asked to help out on a case of a missing sixteen year old girl.

Thank you so much for letting me stop by your blog!

Thank you for taking the time to chat with me! Now guys, I hope you didn’t miss the line in her last answer, it has me freaking out a little, did you see it? Did you? Eeek!

About the Author:

Heather Topham Wood graduated from the College of New Jersey in 2005 and holds a bachelor’s degree in English. Working full-time as a freelance writer for publications such as USA Today, Livestrong.com, Outlook by the Bay and Step in Style magazine, she writes fiction in her spare time. She resides in Trenton, New Jersey with her husband and two sons. Besides writing, Heather is a pop culture fanatic and has an obsession with supernatural novels and TV shows.

First Visions is the first book in the Second Sight series.

Blog | Twitter

 Excerpt:

Blood blanketed Kate’s body. It soaked through her tank top and turned the formerly tan shirt a deep shade of crimson. She had lost consciousness for an undetermined amount of time and knew she probably only had minutes left until she blacked out again.

Panic was setting in, she pushed it away. Her chest wound was bleeding the most. She attempted to use her hands to put pressure on it. Maybe if she could slow down the bleeding, she would have half a chance. She tried not to think about the possibility of her attacker returning to make sure the job was finished. Kate hoped the sound of the car pulling into the driveway had scared him off.

The car door. Someone had arrived at the house before she passed out, she realized with a start. She had thought it was her mother, but she would have found Kate by now. As she tried to focus on her surroundings, she could barely make out a muffled voice calling her name from outside of the house.

Kate tried to respond, tears from the pain ran down her cheeks. The fear of death seemed to be holding her frozen. Her screams sounded like whimpers and there would be no way the sound would travel to her potential savior from her huddled form on the kitchen floor all the way through the front door. Her own blood was choking her and the hopelessness of her situation threatened her grip on sanity. Kate was a pop culture fanatic—she knew that in the movies blood gushing out of the mouth usually meant the character was a goner.

Kate summoned the last of the strength in her broken body and attempted to crawl through the darkness towards the front of the house. The kitchen floor was sticky with a mixture of blood and the Diet Coke she had dropped earlier. Her entire body cried out with each movement she made, but she forced herself to go farther. It felt like miles as she traveled only inches and she prayed that whoever was knocking at the door would not give up and leave.

Kate made it as far as the doorway separating the hallway and kitchen. Her body collapsed and she whined as she realized that she was only a few feet from the front door. The doorbell rang again and the injustice of her predicament set in. She was going to bleed out all over her mother’s Persian carpet and wait alone while the life slowly seeped out of her. Help was within reach, but still so far away. This was never the way she imagined she would die.

Amazon Links:

2 Comments

Filed under Author Interview, Blog Tour, Paranormal Romance, YA

2 responses to “Tour Stop: New Revelations (Second Sight #2) by Heather Topham Wood

  1. Thank you so much for letting me stop by today! Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

