Review: Back to You by Priscilla Glenn

Book: Back to You

Author: Priscilla Glenn

Published: October, 2012

My Rating: 5/5

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Book Description:

When Lauren Monroe first laid eyes on Michael Delaney back in high school, she had every reason to stay away from him; within minutes of their first encounter, his volatile actions confirmed his notorious reputation. But Lauren saw something in him that caused her to question his bad-boy persona, and against her better judgment, she took a chance. She had no way of knowing that the unlikely friendship they formed would become so important to her.

Or that it would end so painfully.

Eight years later, when Lauren begins her new job at Learn and Grow Day Care, Michael is the last person she expects to see. Refusing to revisit the hurt and confusion of their past, Lauren vows to keep her distance from him. But staying away from Michael proves to be more difficult than she thought, despite her lingering grief and her instincts for self-preservation.

As Lauren and Michael recall the friendship that changed them forever and the events that tore them apart, will they finally be able to heal? Or will the ghosts of Michael’s past prove to be too much to overcome?

My Review:

I think all the studying I’ve been doing, plus the excitement of finally having vacations burned my brain cells, hence why it took me so long to write a review… or trying to do it…

Here we go…

Wait. No. Before we get into it let me just say one thing: I fucking LOVED it. There. It’s done. Now I can move on.

Back To You was beyond amazing. An emotional rollercoaster on the best sense possible. It’s been a while since I finished it, like half a month, and I’m still all over the place just by remembering the amazingness of it all.

Well, I read it again between then and now actually, just so I could remember every detail perfectly, and cry again. I’m such a woos!

When Lauren started her new job at Learn and Grow Day Care the last thing she expected was to find Michael Delaney there on her first day in, with his daughter. But she would manage, she could do it. All she had to do was keep her distance, be professional and not remember about their shared past. She could totally do that. Right? Well, maybe if Michael didn’t get under her skin so much.

“His face, like everything she knew about him, was purely contradictory… He was too lovely to be menacing, but too intense to be innocent.”

Ah! I don’t even know how to review this book. It was all kinds of amazing.

Back To You alternates between present and past, retelling Lauren and Del’s relationship while in high school and as adults. And damnit if it didn’t work wonders. I’m actually surprised this is Priscilla Glenn’s debut novel.

Back in high school Michael Delaney –aka Del –was the bad boy. The reckless do-first-think-second kind of boy, but Lauren saw something in him, a vulnerability that made her get close to him despite the warning bells going all around. And so an unlikely friendship was formed.

Their time as teenagers was told from both point of views and it was so sweet it hurt. It hurt because we know something happened that pulled them apart, but reading about their time together, how they helped each other through hard times just breaks your heart, and makes you wish it was still like that.

“The good girls were too good for him. And she was the best of them all.”

As adults though, they have separated lives, they’ve changed. After years without knowing a thing from the other they are practically strangers, yet not at all.

And as time goes by they find themselves growing closer again. And I loved getting to see how they moved around their previous hurts, and tried to be friends again. Lauren was not about to set herself for heartbreak again, and Michael wouldn’t trust easily, he had a daughter to care for so he has to be cautious about everything.

I don’t even know how to explain how this book made me feel. My god, how I cried! And laughed and giggled, and aww’d and everything! Michael’s daughter Erin was beyond cute.

Back To You is a lovely story about second chances, friendship and love.

Both Michael and Lauren have their problems to get over before they can open up to each other again. They have to go back in the past and understand each other’s actions and what brought them to be where they are. And that might just prove to be their undoing.

“I always knew I would fall in love with you,” he said softly. “But you were never supposed to love me back.”

This was such an emotive book. I loved every second of it. It’s heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time. It made me giggle and cry. It made me mad to finally find the truth about what happened, too. And sad, oh so sad. And mad again. It was beautiful and touching and sweet. And…

You know what? Just read it! You won’t regret it. It is sure to leave you grinning like mad.

“You know something, Red? … I think we got a good thing going on here.”

Look out for Priscilla Glenn guys, if her debut novel was this good I’m very eager to hear about her future work. It’s certainly something to forward to.5

[I received a copy of this book from the author. This in no way affected my review.]

1 Comment

Filed under 5 stars, Adult, Review, Romance

One response to “Review: Back to You by Priscilla Glenn

  1. Pingback: Favorite Books of the Year | My Life Through a Book

Leave a Reply

