Review: Chasing the Skip by Janci Patterson

Book: Chasing the Skip

Author: Janci Patterson

Published: October, 2012

My Rating: 3/5

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Book Description:

Ricki’s dad has never been there for her. He’s a bounty hunter who spends his time chasing parole evaders—also known as “skips”—all over the country. But now since Ricki’s mom ran off, Ricki finds herself an unwilling passenger in a front-row seat to her father’s dangerous lifestyle.

Ricki’s feelings get even more confused when her dad starts chasing seventeen-year-old Ian Burnham. She finds herself unavoidably attracted to the dark-eyed felon who seems eager to get acquainted. But Ricki thinks she’s ever in control—the perfect manipulator. Little does she know that Ian isn’t playing their game by her rules.

My Review:

Oh my! It looks like I’m having a bit of bad luck when it comes to books this week. I’m rating this one 3 stars because even though it was sort of good it wasn’t what I expected and I’m left a little disappointed.

For what I’ve been reading in reviews after I finished I’m not the only one that expected some sort of cute story about a bad boy and a girl with family problems. And it was that, for the most part.

Ricki has some serious family problems. Her mother just went poof on her, her grandma doesn’t want the burden if raising another teenager, and her dad has been missing most of her life working as a bounty hunter. Poor Ricki has some abandonment issues. Okay… maybe that’s an understatement.

With nowhere else to go, Ricki is stuck with her father-the-bounty-hunter. Since she was little she always thought of her father as hero chasing bad guys, but as it turns out things aren’t quite like that, and now she has to chase skips with him, albeit reluctantly on his part.

It all changes though, when they have to go after Ian, a seventeen-year-old boy who skipped bail and has some shady charges on his record. Ian has a difficult family situation too, to say the least, and Ricki is intrigued by the boy with the cute smile and the criminal record. More than she should probably be.

Ricki passed as naive and immature sometimes, doing stupid things and acting like a five-year-old. And for what? She only ended getting herself and her father in a shitload of trouble. But she had a funny voice and I found myself laughing and snorting at her antics.

Chasing the Skip was sometimes funny, sometimes a little heartbreaking and with a fair share of twists and turns. I was actually really surprised around the end with how things turned out to be, and really disappointed in Ian. He really isn’t what he seems to be, and it made me sad. Though it probably shouldn’t have.

While Chasing the Skip wasn’t what I expected and I’m left a little disappointed with it all, it still was a good enough read, and Ricki’s funny remarks were good to keep me going. It surprised me, but sadly not for the better.

It’s just a debut novel, and while it might not have been good enough for me, this author is certainly promising. I look forward to reading more of her work; she has a good hand for humor from what I saw in this book.

3

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 stars, Humor, Review, Romance, YA

Leave a Reply

