Review: Overprotected by Jennifer Laurens

Book: Overprotected

Author: Jennifer Laurens

Published: April, 2011

My Rating: 2/5

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Book Description:

Ashlyn: A lonely society princess living in New York City.

Colin: Childhood enemy, now her protector.

Daddy hired him to be my bodyguard. Daddy thought I’d be safe. He thought I’d never fall in love. He thought he could keep me forever.

Charles: Obsessed with keeping her safe and keeping her his, he hires the one person he knows she could never fall in love with: Colin.

Daddy was wrong.

My Review:

I still don’t know how I feel about this book.

Overprotected? That’s an understatement. I just can’t believe I read all of it at all. It had good and bad parts, the problem was the bad parts were B-A-D!

Ugh. I couldn’t connect with the writing or the characters much at all. Ashlyn was doing a hell lot of whining. Her mother was a bit of an asshole, and her father just creeped me out.

Who does stuff like that, you know? Oh, you want to know what he did? Hear this out:

The man hired people she hated. Hated. To protect her so she wouldn’t fall for them. Are you being serious here? Did I get the whole book wrong or what? He hired people he knew she hated to protect her, so she wouldn’t feel attracted to them. Again: WHAT? Yeah, why not try hiring people competent for the job? Jeez! No wonder all that shit happened!

What happened?

Well, Ashlyn wants to be free, so naturally she runs away from her bodyguards. And when the last one gets a little on the creepy side, her father decides to hire another one. Her old neighbor who used to torture and tease her as a child. That’s why she falls head over heels for him the second she sees him again, of course.

Ah!

Despite the ridiculousness of everything I did manage to feel something sometimes, though. Which is why I gave it two stars instead of only one. Plus, I did get to finish it.

I got that Ashlyn needed to be a normal teenager, so I felt for her sometimes. And Colin –her new bodyguard and love interest –was cute too, so it helped a little.

Overall Overprotected just felt incredibly predictable to me, and absurd. Her dad was simply paranoid (the dude had a chip-whatever-thing implanted on her arm to track her down. You know what I mean? Hello!), her mom was too much of a snob and it annoyed me. Ashlyn was whinny and a bit irritating, and Colin was… well, I’ll let him pass, he was all right.

Not sure this book was for me. I did like some parts, but I couldn’t get over how unbelievable it all felt. Can’t say I’d recommended it, sadly.2

6 Comments

Filed under 2 stars, Review, Romance, YA

6 responses to “Review: Overprotected by Jennifer Laurens

  1. Ha. I picked this up from Amazon for free a long time ago and never read it. Now I think I’ll probably give it a pass altogether. 😛

  2. It seems like a really convoluted concept..I loved your review though it was funny in a snarky way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

